Articles

A curated mix on life, work and travel.

Click here to sign up for our newsletter and have the best of NODESK delivered straight to your inbox every two weeks

Monday, Sep 25, 2017

Sunday, Sep 24, 2017

Wednesday, Sep 20, 2017

Tuesday, Sep 19, 2017

Monday, Sep 18, 2017

Friday, Sep 15, 2017

Thursday, Sep 14, 2017

Wednesday, Sep 13, 2017

You Have to Show Up. Every. Day.

Showing up once in the pursuit of your goals will put you ahead of most people who operate by fuzzy aspirations but will put you behind everybody who actually achieved something. Once you get clear on your goal and what you have to do to hit that goal, show up every day. Start developing a habit.

Tuesday, Sep 12, 2017

Monday, Sep 11, 2017

Friday, Sep 8, 2017

Wednesday, Sep 6, 2017

Tuesday, Sep 5, 2017

Monday, Sep 4, 2017

6 Months of Working Remotely Taught Me a Thing or Ten

I wasn’t sure what to expect going into my first remote job. I did a lot of research before taking the plunge. Ultimately, though, I wasn’t sure if it would be as glamorous as others made it out to be, or if I would find it counterproductive to working, learning, and performing to the best of my abilities. As it turns out, it’s a mixed bag. A lot of positives… and some negatives.

Friday, Sep 1, 2017

Thursday, Aug 31, 2017

Are You Downplaying Luck’s Role in Your Life?

When we succeed, we often take that success, in retrospect, to be the result of suffering that liquid trinity of blood, sweat, and tears. Perhaps fortune favored you here and there but, by and large, it was your effort and talent—not contingency—that won the day. Nonsense, says Robert Frank, a professor of economics at Cornell University.

Wednesday, Aug 30, 2017

Is the open office layout dead?

The open office layout is meant to foster an egalitarian work environment that inspires creativity and spontaneous collaboration among colleagues. Nearly 60 years since their invention, an increasing body of research is beginning to show what many employees already know—open offices often fall short of that ideal.

Thank You

All the resources on NODESK are presented freely. If you appreciate what I do here and you’d like to support the project, simply share the site with your community and on social media. You can also visit the Support page to learn more on how you can help. Thank you.

Tuesday, Aug 29, 2017

Is Working Remotely Illegal?

If my online American LLC is serving customers partly automated yet still requiring some work on the laptop, is it “illegal” to work on a tourist visa? Many people also go to Thailand on a 30 day visa, or the infamous Schengen visa for 3 months. They still work remotely- but is that illegal?

Monday, Aug 28, 2017

Friday, Aug 25, 2017

Save Your Sanity. Downgrade Your Life.

In recent years, a number of studies have documented the effects of techno-stress — the psychological and physical impact of spending countless hours staring at a screen. According to the 2017 A.P.A. study, on a typical workday, 85 percent of people are constantly or often digitally connected (by email, text and social media). On their days “off”? It’s nearly the same: 81 percent.

Thursday, Aug 24, 2017

The Golden Age of Bailing

There was a time, not long ago, when a social commitment was not regarded as a disposable Post-it note, when people took it as a matter of course that reliability is a core element of treating people well, that how you spend your time is how you spend your life, and that if you don’t flake on people who matter you have a chance to build deeper and better friendships and live in a better and more respectful way.

Wednesday, Aug 23, 2017

Now Hiring: Not You

Bryerson Global, the world’s leading employer of people in your chosen field, is seeking candidates with your exact skill set, but not you, to add to our growing team of associates. We’re offering a benefits package and generous compensation to individuals with slightly more experience than you, regardless of how much experience you have, unless you’re the most experienced candidate to apply for this position, in which case we’ll settle for someone with much less.

Tuesday, Aug 22, 2017

Monday, Aug 21, 2017