Articles

Articles on how life and work are changing. Topics include: digital nomads, remote work, the future of work and much more.

Click here to sign up for our newsletter and have the best of NODESK delivered straight to your inbox every two weeks

Friday, Apr 19, 2019

How to Read 80ish Books a Year (And Actually Remember Them)

“We feel the need to finish books, even if we’re bored by them. This often gets in the way of people reading because they start a book and they’re like, ‘Oh, it’s boring.’ Well, that’s fine. Put the book down and start another book. Most people don’t do that because we’ve been taught since a very young age at school and at home that we start what we finish…It’s the author’s job to convince you to read the book.

Thursday, Apr 18, 2019

Wednesday, Apr 17, 2019

You Could Have Today. Instead You Choose Tomorrow.

One can’t design a life around what it’s like to be on vacation. Vacations are not real. They cost money. They happen somewhere far away from where you live. Life can’t be filled with the day of your greatest, most impressive accomplishment either…What we need is something sustainable. Something balanced. Something deliberate without being forced.

Tuesday, Apr 16, 2019

The key to loving your job in the age of burnout

But when we talk about “meaningful work,” what do we actually mean? Negotiating peace treaties, growing food, making spectacular amounts of money—all of these can be framed as meaningful, depending on who is doing the framing, and what it is they truly want. Meaning isn’t something to be found, and it can’t be uncovered by heartfelt commitment, long hours, and self-sacrifice. Meaning is something we make.

Monday, Apr 15, 2019

Friday, Apr 12, 2019

Thursday, Apr 11, 2019

Wednesday, Apr 10, 2019

Tuesday, Apr 9, 2019

Monday, Apr 8, 2019

Friday, Apr 5, 2019

Human Contact Is Now a Luxury Good

The rich do not live like this. The rich have grown afraid of screens. They want their children to play with blocks, and tech-free private schools are booming. Humans are more expensive, and rich people are willing and able to pay for them. Conspicuous human interaction — living without a phone for a day, quitting social networks and not answering email — has become a status symbol. All of this has led to a curious new reality: Human contact is becoming a luxury good.

Thursday, Apr 4, 2019